BASKING IN THE SUNSHINE

From the sublime yesterday -  to the ridiculous today - and no apology whatsoever for this being another rose blip!

Yesterday's was a very expensive David Austin rose - today's is an "El Cheapo" rose from Wilkinsons.  I can't remember exactly how much I paid for it, but it was probably about £2.99 - or $4.65 - so quite cheap reasonable.

However, this dear little rose has been "off the fence" for sometime since the fence blew down in the February gales and she has flourished - I think this is probably because she is getting more sunshine now that the fence isn't in the way.  

I haven't pruned this rose or done anything to it - except neglect it, because of course, I haven't been able to do much in the garden and Mr. HCB has been busy making sure the veggie patch is producing well.

The fence is gradually being replaced by our lovely neighbour, Mike - and I am itching to get out there, not only to help with the painting, but to do some gardening, but I have to be patient and pace myself.

In the meantime, I am going to sit in the sunshine, have a cup of coffee - having made one for Mr. HCB and our lovely neighbours, Lyn and Mike - and enjoy not only looking at this beautiful rose, for which I have no name, but enjoying the perfume too. 

No church for us today as the service was due to be an open air one in a local park and as well as being a long way from a car park, I didn't think sitting with my feet on wet grass would be a good idea!  Perhaps I had better sing a few hymns while I'm sitting in the garden!

One of the most tragic things I know 
     about human nature 
          is that all of us tend to put off living. 
We are all dreaming 
     of some magical rose garden 
          over the horizon 
               instead of enjoying the roses 
                    that are blooming outside 
                         our windows today.
Dale Carnegie


 P.S.  Just looked on the internet and it may be "Perpetually Yours". 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.