Final night

... in Corsica.  We catch the overnight ferry back to Nice tomorrow night.

We are back near where we started having circumnavigated the whole island over the past 10 days.  This is the sun setting over L'Île-Rousse where we are staying in a very nice campsite.

I am sure Technophobe has also recounted the incident this morning when it started pouring with rain in a thunderstorm.  Jane dashed outside to bring as much equipment in as she could before it got soaked,  only to find that everything was covered in big hairy caterpillars.  It transpired that we were parked under a tree that had been eaten by the said creatures during the night.  

After much shrieking,  everything was thrown outside in the rain where yours truly stood and tried to remove them all with a kitchen fork.  There must have been at least 50 caterpillars.

I told the story to the lady in the campsite office in my best French (I discovered that Chenille is the French for Caterpillar)  which caused her much amusement.

I have included a close up of one of them (still in the tree) in my extra pictures

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.