Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

A Chicken In Turkey!

The alarm went off at 7.30am and by 8am I was having breakfast of yoghurt, fresh strawberries and honey. The mini bus arrived promptly at 8.30am with the man whom we found out was the owner of the riding stables who resembled General Schwarzkopf with his gruff manner and hat. He mimed a riding action so we knew it was our mini bus, plus the fact it said riding stables on the side helped. He didn't speak any english.

By 9am we were at his stables which was a ramshackle yard just off a new housing development. The General, Mrs BB and our friend Don set off on the advanced rider class whilst the others did the beginners. Don's wife and I walked to a nearby hotel and had a coffee. An hour later we were back at the stables thinking the ride was about 45 minutes, but it transpired it was 2 hours. The General offered great value at £15 each for two hours riding!

The second hour waiting I walked around his yard and admired his bright red wooden stables, held together by plastic sheets and a corrugated roof. The chicken run next door was knocked up. A chicken peered out at a stupid man with a camera looking at her two eggs.

Just before the riders came back I was joined by the General's very young son who amused me. He had a scales and was charging 1 turkish lire. There were no takers so I chucked him a euro and weighed myself. It confirmed I was having far too many all inclusive holidays!

By midday we were back at the hotel for another hard day around the pool. I wish I hadn't got on that scales. What was I thinking?

The blip photo was a toss up between the chicken watching a stupid man or a view of the Generals yard, and a lone poor horse left out in the sun that no one wanted to ride. The Chicken in Turkey won but I'm using the extra photo facility to show you the losing picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.