Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Dog Tired

We went to Mochos Village for a meal last night and I was driving. On the way along the dirt track road from our apartments to the 'motorway' we saw a couple having a heated argument near a sheer drop. On reaching the main road at the end of the track there was a police car with blue lights. I pulled alongside but no one was inside. Thinking I was safe, a few hundred metres along I did a 'U' turn to save driving over 3 miles to turn around. A few minutes later I saw blue flashing lights and was pulled over! I was issued with a pink ticket - the locals all seem to know of this dreaded piece of paper which is met with 'Ooohhhh'. It was all in greek but a translator said it seemed to say I had violated 3 Greek traffic regs and had a fine to pay within 10 days at a post office.

I was told Malia post office was the easiest to find near our apartments and headed there with my pink form and 70 euros to help keep the ailing greek economy afloat. Afterwards, Kel and I walked to Old Malia for some refreshements whilst the girls read romantic novels sat around the pool, happy not to be in the company of a criminal.

The main blip picture is of a dog near the post office in Malia, that was as tired as the laughing I was getting at my predicament as I was!

The extra is a lovely picturesque courtyard in Old Malia near where we went for a drink (Mine was an ice coffee - I was driving!).

This evening we dropped the one set of friends at the airport. The other set who were staying in Malia went earlier today. Sad to see them go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.