Sprouting in the Greenhouse

Dear Diary,

Yesterday was pretty much a washout.  No porch work done but everything got a good, and much needed, drink of water.  I spent the day puttering in the greenhouse.  I planted more radishes and later some lettuce.  Things are beginning to sprout!  I even have some tiny green tomatoes!

I couldn't help but think how much my grandfather would have loved this place.  He was such a wonderful gardener and espoused organic gardening along before it was popular.  Every spring I helped him put in our garden and he taught me to love and care for the soil.

I thought about my grandmother too.  I've included a crewel embroidery she did late in her life when cross-stitch became too difficult for her failing eye sight to manage.  At the end of her life, at 98, her mind had retreated to the farm she grew up on back in the 1890's...a farm I hope to visit this autumn.

Somehow, all this seemed a full circle to me and as I listened to the rain on the greenhouse roof I felt a new and powerful connection to those two wonderful people who were such an inspiration to me.  As far afield as we may travel in our life, we always seem to find the road back home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.