PaulineW

By PaulineW

My first cyanotype

Inspired by joesblips I bought a pack of cyanotype paper (paper that is pre-treated with the chemicals rather than mixing my own) and had a go.  I laid the paper on a flat tray (in a darkened room with just an ordinary table lamp for illumination) and laid the grasses out on it.  I covered that with a sheet of glass (out of a snap picture frame) and took the whole lot out into the sunshine.  I left it for 2½ minutes then took it inside and rinsed the paper under running water for a few minutes to remove any residue, dried the paper flat on the worktop.

I am reasonably pleased with it as a first attempt and will definitely experiment this very basic form of photography further - perhaps with a negative of a photograph of a landscape or something.  Who knows?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.