FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Cottage on the corner

This is the 'cottage on the corner' as I like to call it. Once a village post office, now someone's home, the cottage is the last corner before I reach my village when travelling through the country lanes from Headcorn.

On my journey home from work today, (via the aerodrome to catch up with a flying friend and discuss another air show and my commentary duties), I stopped at the cottage on the corner to give way to a motorbike coming the other way and decided to pull over to take this photo for my Blip.

The cottage is located on a blind corner where more often than not someone is driving in the other direction far too fast and in the middle of the road where it narrows to single track. I'm extra careful on weekends when horses are out with their owners for rides and local farmers are moving tractors around.

A couple of years ago I nearly went to view the cottage as a possible home but the heavy traffic on the corner and tricky access to off-road parking put me off.

I noticed the lush green leaves on the tree outside the cottage today and thought how friendly it looked. I'd love to find out more about the history of the cottage and the hamlet Platt's Heath where it's located.

The Kent countryside looked pretty this evening as I drove home with the roof down. I understand why it's called the 'Garden of England'. Tomorrow it's back to the train as I'm off to Heathrow Airport for filming. Quite the contrast.

Since writing my Blip I seem to see the world with my eyes wide open. What did you see on your journey home today?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.