a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Jimminy Cricket

Well, technically I understand from Honeycombebeach that this is Leptophyes Punctatissima (a Speckled Bush Cricket) or the older brother of this little fellow that I found in late May.  

He has certainly matured a bit over the last few weeks and is  now twice as big, maybe up to 4mm if you exclude the antennae, but still a nymph and with a way to go in growing terms yet. I understand that when mature he should be between 9 and 18mm. There was another of these little fellows just out of shot, so hopefully there will be more little crickets next year.  No matter how I tried I couldn't line up my depth of field to be able to get both of the little devils in the shot.  Despite my pleas, they keep moving about.


Thanks to Honeycombebeach whose blip reminded me to see if I could find this chap again.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.