a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Its not cricket, grasshopper

May Macro Mayhem #2

This macro insect shot was loads easier than the damselfly, as it obligingly kept still for me as I stuck the camera just in front of it.

I really don't know much about insects, so you are going to have to forgive me. I think that this is a tiny cricket, rather than a grasshopper, I say this because of the length of its antennae.  However, it could easily be something else entirely....

It is currently sitting in the flower cup of a potentilla fructicosa and is not more than a 3 millimetres long, excluding its antennae.  So I'm guessing that it is not a fully grown, whatever it is :-)

======

Tomorrow is of course Wednesday, which means that it is Wide Angle Wednesday again.  The theme this week, set by  Chantler63 is 'Opposites'. The aim is to use a wide angle to show things that contrast greatly, you can see more about the challenge here. Feel free to join in, the more the merrier!

I don't have a dedicated wide-angle lens at the moment, so a little ingenuity is required with the iPhone.  Now, all I need to do is get my thinking cap on ... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.