In the roundabout

As vehicles approach Wellington airport they have to go around a roundabout in the centre of which is a bronze figure. I have not been able so far to find any information about the sculpture.

It appears to me as a gymnast doing a one hand stand, with the extinct huia bird on one foot.

Today was the first time I was close enough to see that and to take a photo. I needed to stop at the nearby petrol station to replace the 5 litres the rental car had used in going out to Porirua and back. After doing that, I took a closer look at the sculpture and took this photo.

Then back to Auckland. In the lounge while waiting I met up with the man who was the Manager of the NZ National Office of the College when I was chair 10 - 15 years ago. A pleasant talk, and good to see that he remains committed to worthwhile causes; he's now CEO of the Waikato Hospice in Hamilton.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.