Back corner

Slow start to the day. Then I saw one of the few patients I am still seeing on a continuing basis, had a gap because the insurance company forget to tell their client of the appointment, and then did a repeat assessment of another insurance client. 

The rest of the time at the office this morning, and early this afternoon, I did some rather brave things. I took a whole lot of old journals (dating back 15 to 20 years) to the recycling bins. I am depending on the certainty of the electronic journal access which gives me all of these journals and others I don't have in paper. 

Why now? Because I am closing my practice in order to do locums and have time to myself and S, I don't need to use the office very often at all. So I am leasing it to another psychiatrist for four days a week, and he and his colleague do not want the book shelves and especially not what is on them. This weekend and next I will be removing what they don't want and relocating what I need and/or want to keep. 

One of the things I will take is this print of a photo of Freud's couch. Having it in the office of a psychopharmacologist (meaning I prescribe medication) is slightly mocking of me. However, I value the insights gained by Freud, even if not convinced of the therapeutic value of analysis. The print will find a new place in my study at the beach house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.