Kept his distance

I was late to bed last night, having stayed up to watch the TV replay of the New Zealand v Wales rugby match in Wellington. I don't subscribe to Sky, and I don't object to waiting to see a match. Both teams played well, and the difference was the speed with which the New Zealand team was able to convert defence into attack. The couple of times that Wales did that they scored. It's good to read that Cruden has had a fright with his neck rather than any damage; it did look scary.

Late to bed meant also late to rise his morning . So I left my exercise until mid afternoon, and then went down the steps to Southend, Snells Beach. Had the express intention (told to S) of getting some photos of tuturiwhatu; the New Zealand Dotterel. Told her that it was just the right stage of the incoming tide, as well as the right time of the day.

I was right, somewhat to my surprise. There were seven of them spread over a rugby field sized area of the muddy sand which is peppered with shells and seaweed. Two of them were sporting the alternate plumage (also often called breeding plumage). The more obvious the rufous colouring is, the more likely the bird is a male This one is very colourful, and the largest of those I saw. Presumably a male. 

They were careful to ensure that I didn't get too close, and at times sped across the mudflat like sprinters. After a quick check to ensure that they had increased the distance from me, they started off again until comfortable with the distance.

All my photos needed some cropping to show the birds at their best. I am reduced to the 50-200 mm lens. My 100-300 lens won't consistently work above 180 mm. No idea what is happening. Maybe time for a new lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.