A quiet afternoon

As I have come to expect of Mondays, it was busy busy all day today, culminating in an important multiagency teleconference to discuss the care of one person. It even involved the Director of Mental Health in the Ministry of Health. At times like this, I think that my specialty could learn a lot of practical common sense from the orthopaedic surgeons. 

Mid-afternoon, I had to take the approved final copy of a report (which is going to the Court over my signature), to a lawyer to witness me signing it. A pleasant short walk outside on an Autumnal afternoon. His office was in the back of a building in Grafton Road; a building which houses the Double Rainbow Cafe. 

There was a sign in the seemingly firmly closed door saying "Yes, We Are Open). Not only was there not a single customer (it WAS well after lunch time), I saw no staff; not even bored, hair-twiddling, smart phone using, staff. The chairs and tables were still outside in desperation hope; or maybe they had been forgotten? Their flag/sign was outside near the edge of the road, so perhaps they still expected some staff from the hospital after they had finished their shifts. 

The coffee they were trumpeting on the sign, is not from one of my favourite roasters. So I'll stick with the coffee place in the hospital, for which I have a frequent user card. I only use it once a day; on arrival in the morning. Which to me does not qualify as frequent use.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.