The rain oozed out of the clouds

I woke to the sound of a ruru (morepork, or owl). Its common name in English reflects the characteristic call. As I thought about getting up to see if I could spot it, it uttered the high pitched scree which I have been told  is for range finding. So I went to look; as I slowly approached the doors onto the deck, it went silent, which I took to mean it saw me and went away.

It was still too early to head out for a run, as not only was sunrise an hour away, so was the opening of the dairy which would allow me to buy the Saturday newspaper; the one day in the week we get one generally. 

Although there were indications that it had recently rained and there were a lot of clouds about, I decided I would take the Pentax, gambling that it wouldn't rain while I was out. 

Had a lovely run along Erceg's Way and got a number of good photos (one of which I've added as an extra; a poaka looking at its reflection in sunlit water). As I started back I felt the first spots of rain. Fortunately, the spottiness of the rain was all that happened and only for less than 10 minutes. By the time I got to the dairy on my way home, it had stopped, and the paper was dry when I arrived back.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.