A Picture of Tranquility

It was another foggy morning, and the hills of Pennsylvania are looking soft and green. I stopped by a favorite little pond for a look at the fog. There were cows on the hill amid the mist, but for once, they had not a single word to say. It felt very peaceful and tranquil . . . a nice way to start the day.

Then I went in to work, and the phone rang with an update on my sister. The friend who found her and called 911 for her last weekend has been spending time at the hospital advocating for her, and he has been keeping our family informed on the latest news.

The news on this morning was good: my sister was speaking again. Not a lot, just a few words, but it was a good sign. (Reasons for hope! My heart danced a jig!)

Her friend asked her if she remembered much of the past few days, and she said no, just bits and pieces. "What was the last thing you remember?" he asked her.

And her reply: "My sister bending over me and telling me that she loved me." And I remembered standing by my sister's bed on Monday just before I left her.

I was holding her close in my arms, listening to her beating heart, willing the strength of my body into her body. I was praying for her; telling her I loved her so. But I wondered whether she heard and understood. And now to learn . . . yes, she had. She had heard and understood every word . . .

Of course, I cried.

The song I've picked to accompany this image is George Harrison's Give Me Love (Give Me Peace on Earth). Here are two versions: one sung by Harrison himself, and a second version sung by his friends, in his honor.

Give me love
Give me love
Give me peace on earth
Give me light
Give me life
Keep me free from birth
Give me hope
Help me cope with this heavy load
Trying to touch and reach you with heart and soul

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.