samsticks

By samsticks

Melbourne Star

Oh the Melbourne Star... source of much hilarity to anyone that didn't have a vested interest in it.

It originally opened about 5-6 years ago, after a huge construction cost. Unfortunately, the engineers hadn't factored in that it regularly goes over 40 degrees in Melbourne over the Summer, and within a couple of weeks of it opening (and a few 40+ degree days), hairline fractures started to appear, and the whole thing was closed down.

When I arrived in Melbourne a few years back, it was still being taken down, and it finally reopened last year. I've never been on it, but it's definitely been placed in a strange spot, providing a truly fantastic view over the expansive roof of Costco, the freeway, and the train depot behind that. The other side does have the city, but from a not particularly great vantage point. Oh well.

I took this from Flagstaff gardens when I went for a wander to get away from my desk this afternoon... it was a good opportunity to use the new 40-150mm f2.8! Still having lots of fun with that lens, and I'm hoping to have good use for it tomorrow night.

This evening was spent painting the bedroom (after Miles went to bed, of course). It's now ready to be drilled and have a cupboard built into it tomorrow. If I can nail the walls and get the doors and everything mounted tomorrow I'll be incredibly happy, then Sunday will just be for putting up the plasterboard.

Start your engines!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.