Picture this..

By northernlass261

A Walk in El Ejido

A glorious day, with a little cooling breeze.

This morning I went to El Ejido, our local town just for a browse round and a little window shopping.   Although not very busy, there were people going about their business, having breakfast, sitting on benches under the trees.

I walked all the way up and called in an outdoor cafe near the Police Station.   There was young man with a very impressive looking camera taking videos and pictures of his young daughter cycling and running about.   I was taking some with mine and said that he had a 'slightly' better one than me, and he laughed!

The blip today is of the Plaza Mayor which houses the Town Hall and where brass band concerts, medieval markets etc are held during the year.

In extra shots today there are shady arbors, street life and a sign which shows how cosmopolitan the area is.   It is an Arabic Translation Office!

I went on then to the Carrefour supermarket as I wanted a spit roast chicken for the weekend to save me having to cook.   I cued at the counter and got my ticket and there were only two chickens left.   The guy in front of me wanted one, and the assistant was trying to sell him both, as the offer is 2 chickens, 2ltr coca cola, bag of crisps for 10€ or 5.99€ for just one chicken.   A young guy at the back of me asked if there were any more and there was going to be but later and a bigger size.   Luckily for me the first guy only bought the one, so I came away with mine which I am having tonight with stir fried veg and noodles.

This afternoon a friend came and fixed up my bicycle in the absence of Al, checked the brakes, pumped up the tyres, etc. after which I gave it a wash and it is now ready.

Tonight I am going to the Theater to the Concert Al should be singing in but of course cannot.   There is a youth orchestra playing, so I am still going to support them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.