Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Knee Deep on the Waikari Hills, Rangitata Valley

After a trip into town for a celebratory Birthday lunch with Mrs H's Mum, we headed back home to find that our power has been restored. Yay!! It's a big relief to finally get some electricity back to into the fridge and freezers, and dare I say it, the broadband router. It's much easier blipping inside rather than out in the open on Lookout Road (although the view of Little Mount Peel makes it worthwhile).

After arriving back home and getting Mrs H all settled (she's still feeling a bit rough following surgery a few weeks back) I decided to head up the Gorge road to see how the winter blast has affected the hills and mountains further up the back country.

Up on the top of the Waikari Hills beyond Raules Gully (one of my favourite viewpoints on the Rangitata Gorge Road) the view was one of white, white and more white. Taking advantage of an open gateway, I framed up this shot looking down the snow bound fenceline. The view here is towards the hills that flank the Rangitata Gorge, with the ranges beyond Lake Clearwater in the far distance. As you can see, the Nor'Wester is already bringing snow inland and we're due for another dump here in the Forest on the back of the Southerly, sneaking up behind the Nor'Wester.

There's still plenty of snow from Thursday hanging around. As I framed this shot I went off the road, to find myself up to my knees in the now iced over snow. Cold, yes, but well worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.