Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Whoo Hoo! Breakfast!

The Zipster seemed giddy this morning at the prospect of hitting the single hooked feeder for his "morning delight."  I guess he is so programmed to go to that feeder, the original one, that he shuns the newer one.  Maybe because it hangs a bit higher?  I'm not sure. 

All I know is that by the time I got out there this morning, I noticed that the one he is sipping from in this photo is nearly empty while the other one, which is in the shade more quickly in the afternoon (which you'd think they would favor), is still a quarter full.

I've seen the Anna's hummingbirds go to the new one.  In fact, they aren't the least bit afraid of me, often flying in while I'm half a meter away.  The woodpeckers often jump from one to the other, but I have noticed them favoring Zippy's watering hole.

In any event, I whipped up some nectar first thing this morning and am waiting for it to cool.  When I get home from church and breakfast with my ICF friends I will put fresh nectar out for my little buddies.  They deserve it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.