Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Dry As A Bone

Mr. Redbird's face is letting me know that all of the water in the dish has evaporated.  In this heat it's necessary for me to fill the dishes three times a day.  I also have to put up a new hummingbird feeder every evening, whether it is empty or not.  The nectar (which is basically sugar) ferments in the heat and direct sunlight.  Can't have drunk birds!

It's hard to keep up with them unless I'm home most of the day.  I feel guilty when I do arrive home and I see poor birdies like this one wondering why I've been avoiding them.

Tip: Even if you don't live in the desert, if you are thinking of putting hummingbird feeders up around your yard, try to find places which receive more shade than sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.