Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Start Of The Monsoon?

This scene is a typical one for us during the monsoon season:  streaks and patches of rain viewed in the distance.  I was walking into the grocery store when I saw it and noticed others looking in the same direction.  It was actually pretty exciting for us to see.

When I first moved to southern Arizona, the arrival of the monsoon was declared after the dew point*  reached 53° for three consecutive days. (Now the NWS says it's 15 June, no matter what.) Today it was above that point (and since I'm writing this a day behind I can tell you that it's above 60° this morning). Hopefully, we'll get some of the relief the monsoon often brings.

Tucson averages about 12 inches of rain per year.  We need to get at least   half of that in the next couple of months to avoid going from the mild drought we have now to a moderate or severe one.  I don't believe we've had any measurable rain since early April.

*What's the difference between Relative Humidity and dew point?  Here's a short, excellent explanation .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.