Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Hopping Happy!

I began my odyssey on 1.1.11.  Seven days later, there was an infamous mass murder in Tucson.  My member of Congress and friend, Gabby Giffords, was shot in the head.  It was one hell of a way to begin my journey on blipfoto.  Gabby survived and through her struggles continues to inspire us all. Looking back, it puts my trials and tribulations in perspective.

I am a fighter.  I live every day with bipolar disorder and chronic kidney disease, but I refuse to use those disabilities as excuses.  I have blipped through five broken bones, five surgeries, a subdural hematoma and too many trips/stays in the hospital to count.  I have taken at least one photograph every day.  I am proud of that. 

I want to thank all of you for supporting me through the good times and bad.  It's a thrill to be part of this wonderful, caring community.  It's a thrill to see the places I will never see in person.  You, in each of your own ways, have opened up an entire new world for me; from New Zealand to Iceland, the UK to South Africa, Brazil to Turkey - countries on every continent (if I can only find a blipper in Antarctica)!

I am most grateful for still being able to share these moments with my mom.

God bless you all!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.