Pipped to the Post

We drove down to the Orchid Field again in search of flowers and insects. I can understand now why there is such a short window to view the orchids, as the rushes and grasses have started to take over now. It still a beautiful spot though and still worth visiting. We crossed the road to Les Mielles but the Cinnabar Moth caterpillars still aren't visible, but there were other butterflies around. Maybe next week for the stripey tiggers?

After lunch and finally catching up on everyone's journals, we had a great game of Crib. I started off disastrously, but after some excellent hands and boxes, I got to only needing one point to win!! It was Rik's go and he really did 'pip me to the post' and quite right being his day today. 

We don't play Crib that often but we always enjoy it when we do. It's a game that always reminds me of my Dad, who taught me play. I have wonderful memories of sitting in front of a roaring coal fire playing and probably losing against him, he was a very good player. So instead of the usual wildlife photos I thought I'd try something a bit different for my blip today, in memory of my Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.