QUELLE DOMMAGE!

There has been much excitement in our house because today we were due to have a "Blip visit" from Turnx3, her husband and daughter en route to visit family who live about 30 miles further along the motorway.

The house has been cleaned from top to bottom - always good when you are expecting visitors - well good for the house;  cakes purchased, as I am not up to standing for long periods of time to bake them myself and Mr. HCB agreed that he would not go to cricket today, so that he could meet our visitors too.

I got out the best china - well you can't give visitors tea out of a mug, can you?  All was ready and we were so looking forward to this meeting, when at about 11.20 the phone rang.  I rushed to answer, thinking it would be my Blip friend, and it was - but with disappointing news.  There had been a problem in the tunnel in France, and they would be stuck there now for another 4 or 5 hours.  Whilst writing this, I racked my brains for a suitable French phrase and could only come up with "Quelle dommage"!  

So, instead of us all sinking our teeth into the lovely "soft" icing (for the Mono Monday challenge) on top of the carrot cake, here is the lonely cake, which must now be eaten by 2 of us instead of 5!  Quelle dommage!!!

Mr. HCB wasn't too worried about cricket, as he checked on the website and they aren't due to start playing until midday - such is the English weather - and I felt more for our intended visitors being stuck waiting to get over to England from France.  

Take care, dear "unmet" friends - I'm sure we will meet one day and as I mentioned when we spoke on the phone, Mr. HCB's mother always used to say "Don't get upset, dear - these little disappointments make up your character!"  

“It was one of those times 
you feel a sense of loss, 
even though you didn't have something 
in the first place. 
I guess that's what disappointment is -
a sense of loss for something 
you never had.” 
Deb Caletti

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.