a modest enquirer

By lewishamdreamer

March Against Austerity

It was time to restart covering political protest. I had all sorts of other ideas planned that day - a rare comics signing was on offer, which I'd been determined to go to, but I couldn't get past my principles. A national demonstration was set to take place against the Conservative government's austerity policies, and it was expected to be huge. Not only did I feel I had to be there on moral grounds, but the photographic opportunities were enormous. 

In the end about 250,000 people marched in London alone, in an entirely peaceful protest against the government's appalling attack on the most vulnerable. I couldn't have been more overjoyed to see the social solidarity, the commitment to the common good, and people from every conceivable background coming together to say 'enough'. This government thinks it can set us against one another, and be so distracted we won't hold them to account. This march proved that ultimately they won't be successful. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.