A view after the rain*

My clients get a free day during their week (not a rest day; rest is for the weak). It's nominally Thursday but with today being the only day in the week not forecast for glorious I decided to make today the free day. Right on schedule the rain arrived late Monday evening and was heavy through the night, by this morning it was patchy - but I was pleased to see there were no views of the mountains and I'd made the right call for the clients.
I swung by their hotel & most had opted to take my advice & ride the Montenvers train to the glacier and to go in the ice tunnel - on a combined ticket with the Aguille du Midi lift - & just as I'd hoped I'm sat here blipping on the balcony in glorious sun - so hopefully they'll have enjoyed some spectacular views of the haute montagne.

& what does a guide do on his day off?

Well he checks on his clients, has coffee with a mate, writes some more procedural stuff, gets annoyed by a patchy wall & decides to paint 'just that bit' - & of course ends up painting entire hallway - goes for a swim and sits on the balcony in glorious sun listening to Radio Paradise, blipping away with a cold beer while the tuna steaks marinade.
Hope you've all had a good whatever day of the week it is.

* I've blipped all of this view before at various times & no doubt will again (& again) - but I've never found a spot where I could get the whole sweep of the Aravis & the Rochers in - but today I was stopped in traffic & saw that the little church at Les Plagnes perched on the side of the hill has a little garden that offered just enough space to grab a shot - so here it is - 180° from West to East.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.