The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Butterfly chasing

A Northern brown argus butterfly rests on a daisy, the little flowers show how diminutive this species is.  On this fine, warm afternoon, they were numerous in the sheltered limestone grasslands of the Knott, mostly immaculate and pristine from fresh emergence after the cooler days.  For me, today was the first good butterfly day of the season, seeing my first small pearl-bordered fritillary, speckled woods as well as the Arguses.

I came home early feeling a bit sore after having a large chunk of flesh removed from my back, what was left stretched and sewn back together with 10 stitches.  I had been expecting something more minor!  So I needed a few hours in the sunshine chasing butterflies.

Chasing them I was, while Gus panted in the shade I repeatedly followed one in flight and as it alighted on a flower I tried to get close enough.  Each time I bent the creeking knees to get down to its level, it would take off.   Butterflies are much easier in the early morning as they bask to warm up.  This afternoon they were warm and flighty.  Eventually, though, this one obliged me long enough for a few close-ups with sunshine illuminating its white fringes.

Thanks for all the encouraging comments on the last blip.  I may try switching comments off after this for a while, until the nights start to draw in again.  The tiredness is due to nothing more complicated than not getting enough sleep in the short nights and early mornings when I wake up much too early.

This blip is dedicated in gratitude to Sue and Chris for their friendship, kindness and good humour.  17 thank you's!  I hope you see this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.