An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Wide Angle Wednesday 17 – Floral

I think this might be the first time I have done a wide angle Wednesday. I don't really have a wide angle lens, so haven't bothered. My kit lens is 12 to 50mm (22 to 100mm 35 mm equivalent), so I suppose 22mm is just about wide angle, but not really wide. I'd like a fish eye, but that would be a bit expensive and would be used only very occasionally. 

So here are some eucalyptus flowers. I think this is a spotted gum, as it has such lovely 'spotted' bark (I think I may have blipped that once). There is only one small branch that is accessible, the rest of the flowers are way up many metres in the air. Bats just love this tree – in fact, they kept me awake last night with their squeaking and bickering over the flowers. The bats are flying foxes (Pteropus poliocephalus), which can have a wing span of a metre and weigh up to a kilo. Unfortunately it's too dark and too high up to get photos of the bats themselves...

Thanks to Things Beautiful for hosting this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.