Early morning Thames stroll

The reason for staying in the Tower Bridge area, even though the view from the hotel was rubbish, was in order to meet up with my son for breakfast. A very early start from the hotel allowed me quickly to see his new home (well, it's not that new - he's basically been there nearly a year) and then to have breakfast together at Jamie's Italian, which doubles as the hotel restaurant for the London Bridge Hilton.

I find this area just south of the Thames, opposite the City, to be a fascinating area with all the old warehouses and new developments intermingled. It was really good to be in a part of London that I don't usually visit, and if this were my regular walk to work - as it is my son's - it would lift my spirits every day I did it.

After breakfast, I trekked back to St Pancras, and sat at a cafe working until it was time to take the train to Sheffield. Some more work, and a bit of hanging around until it was time to have dinner with a couple of friends and colleagues, prior to our working day on Wednesday.

Finally, back to stay with T and P, and to share some chat over a late night tipple.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.