Labyrinth or Maze?

Dear Diary,

This is my finger labyrinth that I got in France a couple of years ago when I visited Chartres Cathedral.  I enjoy walking a labyrinth and this thousand  year old one was very special indeed.

I think that one can journey through life in one of two ways.  You can see the journey as a maze, with dead ends and wrong turnings, meant to confound and fool you or you can see it as a labyrinth.  In a labyrinth you need only put one foot in front of the other and you will reach the center.  And like real life, it has only one way in and one way out.

When I was in Ireland last year I walked a maze at Russborough House.  It was an extremely stressful experience.  Now, I choose to see life as a labyrinth and this quote is one I especially like:

The purpose of a maze is to find the center.  The purpose of a labyrinth is to find your center.

Your choice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.