What a lovely day:-

By BKeeper

to Keep Watch

I was going through the effects of my late parents the other day. In a box containing the residue of the household, I came across this watch.

Now you will know that I like a good challenge and, of course, I could not resist the temptation  to find out more about  the watch and a little of its history. 

At first glance it could be described as a first world war officers trench watch. It has a gold case and apart from a missing glass front is almost in working condition. But what officer with any sense would take a nice watch to the trenches where it would inevitably be ruined or lost?

The serial number of the mechanism indicates that it was made in 1918/19 and the case was hallmarked in Birmingham in 1920 .  Thus it could never have seen service in the first world war.

It is  a fairly common design and as such it is not a valuable watch but I have decided to get it restored and get it running again.

Happily I know someone who can do this job and I have a strong suspicion that it may have belonged to my great uncle.  

It would give me satisfaction to be able to wear his watch. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.