Pure Magic!

I was so excited last night I hardly slept a wink and was quite wide eyed when hubby nudged me at 5am - it was time to get up. A quick breakfast and last look at my packed belongings before driving down the drive at 6.20 to meet up with blipper JMK in Christchurch.

JMK had invited me to join her on a day trip to Lake Clearwater in the heart of the Canterbury High Country to see the snow which was everywhere!

We left early to see the sun lighting the mountains as it rose, turning the sky from soft pink, apricot tones to the clear blue which remained with us for most of the day.

Lake Clearwater borders the Hakatere Conservation Park which covers nearly 60,000 hectares of rugged mountain country, tussocklands, beech forest and sparkling clear rivers and lakes between the Rakaia and Rangitata Rivers, but today most of it was completely blanketed with snow, pristine as it shimmered in the light. I was in awe by the beauty of frozen Lake Camp and Lake Clearwater surrounded by the magnificent mountains and so much snow.

A few people were out walking, well you couldn't really drive round the small settlement the snow was thick. It was warm in the sun, -7C, but the air was brisk. Some people were walking on Lake Camp, skating and setting up for some curling. I wandered off the beaten track for a wee while but sunk down in the snow to my calf and thought I'd better find a track as I just might disappear being so short.

Driving was tricky with so much snow and ice on the roads but it was no worries for JMK, we took it easy - it really was a photographers paradise.

The extra shots are about the journey in, from just after sunrise to arriving to Lake Clearwater. The jaggered mountains in the shots are the first sighting of the Southern Alps, there are a couple of the settlement and some of the activities on the ice - just love the deck chairs!

All in all, a day which was pure magic, simply took my breath-away whichever way I looked. Thank you J, this will be a day I will always treasure for the rest of my life :)

I'll sleep well tonight after the freshness of the mountain air.

Happy, Happy Saturday everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.