elinorevansharp

By elinorevansharp

Welsh Cakes

This morning I was teaching, which was lovely!! Though my little pupil bargained with me that if she practiced we tunes well this week would I teach her 'Let it Go' from Frozen next week! Hmmm good bargaining skills for a six year old!! :) let's hope she sticks to her end of the bargain! :)

This afternoon my friend that I haven't seen for ages came over, we chatted caught up on life and then made Welsh Cakes using my grandparents recipe, it was lovely!! :) it was a bit funny, the first two Welsh cakes were a disaster...burnt and generally not nice, but we got the hang of it after a while and they now look (and taste) lovely haha!! :)

The weather was a little bit odd today, absolutely chucking it down in the morning but really sunny in the afternoon/early evening, so the photo above is the Welsh cakes and tea out in the garden :)

Today's Welsh phrase is:
Picau ar y maen!
(Cakes on a bake stone (Welsh cakes))

Because Welsh Cakes are traditional made using a bake stone, and picau is an old Welsh word for cakes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.