Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mono Monday: Lines

I wasn't going to submit anything for this week's Mono Monday challenge because I was just having too much fun snapping bugs and birds, none of which really scream "lines" to me.  However, when I saw P-Hummie perched on this tiny wooden trellis on the deck, I thought...hmmmm, that kind of looks like lines.  Then, for one nano-second, he stretched his tiny wings, showing his lovely lines of flight feathers.  So here I am, submitting something for MM74.  I am posting the color version in Extras if you want to see his lovely red gorget.

I've also posted 5 other pics on Flickr Starting HERE with a hoverfly close up (I'm getting warmed up for Tiny Tuesday!)

Babies seen this morning in the yard...downy woodpeckers, cardinals, chickadees, tufted titmice (2 separate family broods), chipping sparrow, great-crested flycatcher and nursery-web spiderlings.  And, of course, loads of fledgling hummingbirds, each one amped up on sugar and tearing around like little rockets.  The wrens and swallows still appear to be incubating but I have to think eggs are going to hatch any day now.  

I'm going to try cedar-planing some a pork tenderloin tonight - should be interesting.  I am also trying a new pesto recipe on potato salad.  We'll either have a great dinner...or we'll be ordering pizza!   

Mom and Dad are heading back to Portland today from Washington, where the temps have been around 110 F.  That's just stinking HOT.  It's also hot in Portland, but not quite that hot.  

Garden Notes:  The butterfly bush next to the garage is just starting to open some blooms; the tall phlox is starting to get buds and the miniature phlox just started blooming.  The red bee balm is looking great; the pink is slowly starting to bud.  all 3 coneflower/echinecea patches  are in full bloom now.  Milkweed is a couple of inches above ground - late because I started from seed.  Dalhias are all coming up and the first few buds are forming.  Cosmos starting to bud.  


Here's hoping your week is off to a great start.  Thanks for stopping by.


Toodles,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.