Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Little things with a big lens

Usually, I'd prefer to shoot butterflies with a macro lens, but I was feeling lazy today and didn't want to hunker down in the wet garden waiting for the flyer to get close.  So, I stayed 10 feet away, 300 mm in hand, waited only a couple of minutes, and got a handful of shots.  I decided I wouldn't crop this much, just took it from full frame to roughly DX, leaving the mass of blooming coneflowers visible.  We planted this little patch about six years ago and every year it keeps spreading, which is just wonderful.  These are native plants so they need no care at all.  We don't even water them.  And,  when they go to seed later in the year, the finches go crazy for the seeds.  Win win.

My second choice for a blip today was two blue jays having a blow out.  Not the best photo, but definitely captures the action.  And just behind that are two other shots from today that I liked - a yellow ladybird beetle and some raindrops.  

The butterfly is a Great Spangeled Fritillary, a very common summer flyer.  Last summer, they were present in large numbers. This summer,  all the butterfly numbers are very, very low.  No idea why, but perhaps having to do with the late freezes in May.  

I had a quick sortie out this afternoon to pick up a couple of plants for the garden.  Stopped at a favorite spot for a quick look around - saw dragons, swallows, flycatchers and a few bees.  Have to go back when I have more time.  Hm, maybe tomorrow.

Thanks for the kind comments on yesterday's little robber.  Really wish I'd had a better lens for that... but hey ho.  

Later...
Debbi

PS:  and a late shot, just for the cuteness factor, a juvenile titmouse being fed by it's long-suffering parent

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.