Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Robber

Nothing really special about this photo, but I do love seeing Robber Flies and since it's Tuesday and I wanted something tiny...well, there you have it. Robber flies (Asilidae) are a huge family and it is difficult to identify them; however, I'm guessing that this one is a Neoitamus flavofemoratus, a common robber in this area.  On the other hand, I could be totally wrong.  

The rain held off and I was able to get out with my naturalist group for a very enjoyable 3 hours of nature.  We saw snakes, a baby snapping turtle, butterflies, dragons and the oddest little fuzzy aphids.  As always, it was loads of fun.  I didn't want to take a big camera with me, so I just used my little bridge camera - it takes okay shots and is what I used for this.  

If you'd like to see four other pics from today, Click HERE - a tiny cricket frog, a tiny ribbon snake about to shed it's skin, a tiny snapping turtle, and a tiny woolly aphid.  Truly a tiny-themed day.  And a big THANK YOU to our very own WalkingWombat from Oz for hosting this week.

Still working on getting a few more parent-feeding-baby-bird shots.  The Red-bellied woodpeckers are being a little cagey, but I know they'll come around soon.  

Toodles,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.