Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Why I love summer so much...

...because no matter how uninspired I may feel, there is always a crowd of hummingbirds to get me motivated.  Based on the extremely pristine plumage, I'm going to hazard a guess that this is one of this year's "babies", all grown up and full of fight.  There were at least 6 females/juveniles and three males in the garden today which makes me smile from ear to ear.  

I took this shot early this morning with the deeply shadowed woods as a background, which the camera read as black.  I cropped it and did some minor adjustments in LR.  I like the starkness of the pale bird against the dark background.  Even with the shutter at 1/1500, I got a lot of wing blur, which tells you how fast their wings beat.

When I went to visit MIL she was sound asleep and I didn't have the heart to wake her.  She had a rough day yesterday so I suspect she needed the rest today.  Hubs will see her after dinner this evening.

Speaking of Hubs, he seems to have turned the corner with the man-cold.  He even felt well enough for a nice 2-mile walk today.  We've had perfect weather the past few days so glad he and I were able to get out and enjoy it.  Tomorrow will feel more like summer, with temps in the high 80's F.  

Late this afternoon when I was on the phone with bestie, Peggy, I saw a worm-eating warbler for a few brief moments.  I usually get at least one during the latter part of the summer so this was a bit early.  Hopefully it will make a return appearance so I can get some photos.  This makes the 65th species of bird I've seen in/from my yard so far this year.  

Be well, people.  And thanks to Cailleach for hosting WildWed!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.