Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Wild Baby Yard Bird - Ovenbird

What an utter delight to have this young warbler show up this morning while I was reading the paper on the deck.  Luckily, camera was at the ready and (equally lucky) the young warbler hung around for well over a minute, allowing me to get plenty of shots.  This is my 36th species of yard bird to be blipped this year.

This lovely little bird is in the wood warbler family and is named for the oven-shaped nest that it builds on the forest floor.  I knew that there was a nesting ovenbird pair somewhere in the woods behind our house because I've been hearing their distinctive "teacher, teacher" song for the last month.  The adults, when alarmed, raise a bright orange crest on the top of their heads.  If you look closely at this one, you can see the beginnings of the orange head plumage.  Anyway, fun way to start the day.  And I'll put an outtake in Extra - got the little guy in mid-poop, looking a bit embarrassed.

We're takng MIL to a dermatology appointment today and then out for lunch, so I expect to be gone much of the day.  

Thank you so very much for the love on my little hummingbird yesterday.  I should give you fair warning that you are going to be seeing a lot more of them during the next few months...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.