Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Candy-striped

No summer in our garden is complete without these delightful and colorful little Candy-striped Leafhoppers (Graphocelphala coccinea).  Measuring just about 1/4 inch (6-8mm), and having the ability to jump several feet in a single hop, they aren't always the easiest things to photograph.  My experience has taught me that early mornings are the best time for many insects, these among them.  

Like all members of the leafhopper family, they gather nutrition by sucking on plant juices; and for some, this makes them a garden pest.  For me, however, they are welcome.  A few tiny holes in the sunflower leaves is a cheap price to pay for these colorful residents.  I've read that they eject the spent liquids with a fair amount of force from their stripped butt - haven't observed this in person, but remain hopeful (as any geeky wannabe-entomologist would). 

It's hot here today which meant that the bird activity in the garden was lighter than normal.  It will pick up this evening before sunset when things cool down a bit.  The only birds seemingly unaffected by the heat are the hummers, whose numbers are increasing now as July approaches.  Two males are constantly chasing one another and doing their high-speed aerial displays to impress the ladies.  

Hubs and I kept our date this afternoon to go to a nearby lake, rent a Kayak for two, and take to the water.  Neither of us has kayaked before, so we weren't sure if we'd like it, but as it turned out, it was awesome.  It was so nice out on the water with enough breeze to stay cool and lots of dragons and birds along the shoreline.  It was so much fun!  Even with my impaired balance, I felt comfortable in the kayak, so next time, I think we'll rent two singles.  

Tomorrow I'm joining a friend to march in one of the nationwide Immigration Separation/Families Belong Together Protests.  I made a sign, with the help of the Tinies, which I'll be proudly carrying.  The recent policy of separating families at the border goes against every fiber of my being; and although our government has ceased the practice (for now), there are still several thousand children who need to be reunited with their families. I can't begin to imagine the fear and trauma these children have experienced.   Some will disagree with me on this issue, and that is their right.  Just as it is my right to march on behalf of those who can't speak for themselves.  

(stepping down off soapbox now)

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.