Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Orphaned

My friends who own the farm around the corner from us have three little orphaned kittens who have been socialized and are about to be adopted.  After John and I got back from the Families Belong Together march, we popped into to visit the kittens.  They have their own private chalet attached to the barn with lots of windows, heat, food, water and a gazillion hiding places.  Their mother, a feral cat, had been killed when John and Barb found these kittens (along with a fourth who, sadly, didn't make it).  It has been thanks to Barb's diligence, patience and kind heart that the three remaining kittens, including this one, are going to be placed in good homes.  

Anyway...after the little ones got somewhat used to me and the camera, I was able to grab a few cute shots of each.  This one, the smallest and shiest, was hiding in this branch wreath, which made the most adorable frame.  I had to lighten the heck out of the photo, but it's good enough for today.  And, hopefully, it will bring smiles!

The march, one of over 700 across the US today, was a great event.  Even in sweltering heat, it felt good to be out there with my sign, standing up for the rights of immigrant children.  I am putting a pic of my friend John and I that was taken by one of the other attendees.  It was a peaceful protest and the support from motorists passing by the protest line was heartening.  I am lucky to live in a country where I have the right to protest the policies of my government if I disagree.  And in the case of treatment of immigrant families, I disagree.  Do have a look at the Extra and see what you think of the job the Tinies did in posing for the picture on my sign!

Oh, and just for fun, have a look HERE on Flickr to see the young visitor to our patio at 5:44 this morning.  He/she appears to be a second year cub, probably just booted from the company of its mother.  Kind of cute in a big, black, fuzzy way.

Have a fabulous day.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.