Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flower Friday...with something extra

Every summer, these curious moths show up - never for very long and always in groups.  They are Himmelman's Plume Moths and in addition to the three on the top of the tiny flea bane flower, there is one underneath as well.  To give you some context, the flower head is about the size of a US penny.  I hadn't seen any yet this summer, so was quite happy when I came across this little group at the edge of the woods this afternoon.

I went for a short walk this morning, specifically looking for insects.  Seems like the flea bane is quite popular with all sorts of crawlers as I found the tiniest crab spider I've ever seen on one.  I also found a very cool looking Jagged Ambush Bug, just waiting to ambush something.

Good visit with MIL later in the morning - she was laughing and carrying on.  There was a competitive game of balloon toss going on when I got there, which always makes me laugh.  

Charlie was sitting at our front storm door, looking out at the world when he suddenly launched himself directly at the glass.  I zipped over to see what was going on and saw a juvenile catbird on the porch, just under a big shrub where they have a nest.  Charlie was on point - I'm sure in his mind he was already dining on tender catbird.  Happily, the youngster hopped back up in the shrub and it's now being tended by its parents.  It didn't appear to be quite flight ready yet, but sure was cute.  And tender looking...

Thanks for stopping by, and big thanks to Anni/BikerBear for continuing to host Flower Friday.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.