Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Syrphidae Saturday

This tiny little hoverfly is very common all summer and generally pretty easy to photograph.  They feed on flowers so finding one in an attractive setting is always easy.  A bit of sleuthing led me to deduce that this particular member of the Syrphidae family is in the Genus Taxomerus. I posted a closer side view on Flickr, if you'd like to have a look.

And, for you arachnophobes out there, you can thank me for NOT posting THIS photo of a male yellow garden spider.  However, since he's made a home for himself in my garden, I can't promise that he won't be featured at some point...

I got a call yesterday from a friend asking if I'd be the "bug expert" for a Nature Camp that is being hosted for about sixty 4-12 year-olds. I jumped at the chance and am now busy thinking about how best to present an interesting and engaging series of talks.  I am thinking that I'll collect some live specimens in mason jars so I can pass them around for the kids to see.  Then, I'll print off some photos showing things like the spider's 8 eyes, dragonfly compound eyes, etc.  The camp will be in an outdoor setting so we can also search for insects.  They break them into 3 groups for three 45-minute sessions and try to group them by age, which will make it easier.  What fun!!

Had a most excellent phone call with one of my favorite blippers this morning - what a perfect way to start the day.  

Dinner tonight will be a simple pizza margarita which I need to get to work on!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.