Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Love in the lilies

I would be embarrassed to tell you how many shots I took of this pair of cabbage white butterflies ... suffice it to say, a lot.  And I used both cameras, too - one with the 300 mm lens the the other with the 105 mm.  Strangely, I was happier with this shot, taken with the longer lens.  It's pretty heavily cropped, but I like it because you can see both faces and they are almost on the exact same plane so focus is pretty good on both.  I finally left the poor pair to carry on with their business.  

I was spoiled for choices today with titmice babies, candy-striped leafhoppers, and chipmunks being utterly adorable.  I posted a young chipmunk exploring some milkweed and a young titmouse demanding to be fed.  Two shots starting HERE on Flickr.

Hubs noticed the wrens going in and out of the box at the edge of the woods so I had a quick peek and found what appear to be 7 very newly hatched lumps babies.  I'll try for a better photo in a few days, but didn't want to stress Mama today.  This is the same female who lost her first brood when they were only a few days old (bear got them).  Hoping she has better luck this time.  AND, a quick check in the bluebird box showed that three of the four eggs hatched sometime today!  A quick cell phone shot posted HERE.  

Trip to Walmart to buy a dozen mason jars so I can use them for my Nature Camp bug presentation.  That's assuming that there are any bugs left in our yard with all these babies being fed!

MIL is here now, so I'm going to go visit with her before I make dinner for all of us.  

Thanks for stopping by!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.