Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Common Cabbage White

These little white butterflies are common on many continents, including mine.  Although they aren't native to N. America, they aren't considered to be a pest (unless you're trying to grow veggies in the cabbage family) and don't threaten native species.  They are actually very pretty when viewed up close.  The challenge is that they are exceedingly flitty things and getting one to sit still for a photo requires some patience.  Or, in my case today, a bit of luck.  

It is blisteringly hot today with high humidity.  Definitely not a day to spend long periods outside.  I've been making quick sorties out, then back in to sip some ice tea and cool off.  Bird activity is light because of the heat, but insect activity is excellent.  

I was greeted this morning with a small throng of Great Golden Digger Wasps.  For the last few summers, there has been a small colony that builds their nest holes along our back walkway.  I hadn't seen one yet this year and feared that perhaps the colony had perished during the winter.  So, to have 8-10 very large wasps buzzing around me this morning when I went out was very welcome.  Although they look menacing, clocking in at a little over an inch in length, they are actually extremely docile.  Being solitary wasps, they don't defend a hive nor do they defend their nest sight.  And although they were buzzing all around me this morning, they were only concerned with scoping out the most desirable spots to dig and defending their prime spots against other diggers.  To see a shot of one digging, click HERE.  And, yes, you can expect to see a blip of one in the near future.  

Hubs and I are going to take MIL out for an early dinner tonight at a local Italian spot.  We'll be having her over to the house tomorrow along with her two nephews (hubs' cousins) so thought we'd take her out today instead of being here two days in a row.  

Thanks for all the kind and supportive comments on my blip yesterday.  I suspect it won't be the last protest I attend.  Sadly, there is much to protest right now.  And while not all will agree with my views, I do so appreciate the support - thank you.  And just to share... the first thing my parents said when we got on the phone for our Sunday call was how proud they were of me for getting out there and protesting yesterday.  Thank you, Mom and Dad.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.