Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Repeat... (And Yard Bird # 43)

I know, I know ... I just posted a very similar shot a few days ago of a downy woodpecker feeding her female fledgling.  But, hey, you haven't seen the little boys yet so I figured that excuse the repeat performance.  Plus, no saliva this time - just a big gob of yummy suet.  And, I liked that the little guy had his crest raised, a show of how excited he was to be fed.

I also got my first good look at both the red bellied woodpecker fledglings and the ever-evasive blue jay kids. I fully expect to blip both very soon, perhaps even some feeding action if the parents will cooperate.  I think a hawk got one of the young titmice as I found a pile of suspiciously titmouse-looking feathers in the yard.  Sad, but I also know the hawks are feeding young now too.  It's nature.  

On a happier note, I photographed Yard Bird # 43 today, a beautiful male Scarlet Tanager.  Unfortunately, he was well hidden in the trees and the photo isn't good enough to be blipped, but I'll put it in Extra.  They are extraordinary looking birds - vibrant red with a sharp black wing.  

Rain in the forecast for tomorrow (which we desperately need) but hoping it holds off until afternoon as I'm scheduled to meet up with my naturalist group in the morning.  I'll play it by ear.

And in bluebird news - I think Madame's nest may be complete with just three eggs.  She's not laid any eggs for 3 days but is staying close to the nest, so I think she's done.  It's warm enough now that she doesn't need to brood.  Fingers crossed the wrens stay away.  

TTFN
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.