A Loon on the Pond

Dear Diary,

This is the last week of my Poetry of Place project.  After photographing Little Clemons Pond right down the road from my house over the last year, I will end on Saturday, July 4th.  I chose that date because that is the day back in 1845 That Thoreau went to live at Walden Pond.  Seemed a good day to conclude the project.

This is only the second time I have seen a loon on the pond.  They much prefer the larger pond right next to this one.  The first time I saw them they were clear across the pond; this time he was much nearer to me.  What struck me was how the water ripples mirrored the loon's markings.  Everything was patterns of black and white.  He was wary of me so didn't come close enough for a detailed shot but it was pleasing nonetheless.

I saw my first water lily as well.  The white ones always bloom before the larger yellow ones.  I've added it as an extra photo today.  The pond is settling into the summer season and I am thankful for all the beauty it has revealed to me over the last year.  It has changed not only how I look at the world but how I photograph it as well.

The scenery, when it is truly seen, reacts on the life of the seer. How to live. How to get the most of life.... How to extract its honey from the flower of the world. - Henry David Thoreau

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.