A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Tiny Tuesday ~ Tiny Planets

Well from here they look tiny...!

Tonight I was lucky enough to see the conjunction of Venus and Jupiter.

This is the brighter of the two 'stars' you can see. The other smaller star above is Regulus, the 22nd brightest star in the sky and is part of the constellation of Leo.

Some boring facts:

Venus is 49 million miles away from Earth. It is also nearer to the sun than we are.

Jupiter is 564 million miles away.

Events like this give the illusion of planets looking like the 'Star of Bethlehem'. 

My camera and lens isn't the best equipped for this sort of thing but in the absence of any other decent photograph from today I'd thought I'd give it a go. It didn't help that my driveway and the planets also had a near conjunction with a bright lamppost which is shining it's rays to the right of the image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.