Railway Street

This is my entry for the Wednesday Wide Angle challenge, this week our theme is architecture, and kindly hosted by  JDO;  I've chosen to blip street scenes in my home town.

As a town Huddersfield has the 5th most listed buildings of architectural interest in the U.K.  No doubt this was in large part to do with the wool barons, who in the 19th century  -  along with the city of Bradford made the area into one of the most prosperous in the country.

Alas times change, but we still have a wealth of interesting architecture here even if it's not to everyone's taste.  I had intended blipping the Railway Station which is well known, but I've done it before and this morning I didn't get the shots I wanted so my blips were taken just a few steps from there because I rather like this grand Gothic style. Today the buildings have been converted and are used as apartments.

PS. I was in town at 7am this morning to avoid people and cars, but for a photographer I did the unforgivable and "photo bombed" my own shot.  I didn't realise what I'd done until I uploaded, which by then I'd lost the will to live.   :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.