Leave me alone!

...this little fella was crawling where I was sweeping. I didn't want to accidentally hurt him or step on him so I went to pick him up but he was having none of it. He thrashed, he did loop the loop, he attacked me.

I went and got my phone and took a photo of him...top left pic.

Then I watched him trying to dig a hole in the surface soil/dirt on the top of the concrete driveway. He slung a tiny leaf away, slung that tiny piece of twig over his head. Then I realised he looked ready to make a chrysalis or something. But it was only surface dirt on the concrete. He was getting frantic...top right pic.

So I got a pot and put dry soil and dirt in it. He didn't mind being lifted with me using two leaves. He didn't want to be in the pot. Tried to climb the sides. So what to do now? I took the pot to the containers of plants that have died because of this excessive heat (I cannot water them all) and placed the pot sideways so he could climb out...bottom left pic.

He did climb out and on the bottom right pic you can see him disappearing down between the container and the dry soil. He stayed there and didn't come out so I supposed he was doing what caterpillars do at this stage of their development.

I realised after that he must have been attracted to the concrete because it was very warm. Anyway where he is now he is safe and warm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.