An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

THANK YOU!

Wanted to drop by with an image of THE place that in my Heart, is my Taj Majal, my Sydney Opera House, MY Shangri La, to say thank you all very much for the overwhelming response to my rather straggly backlit poppies Blip.

Better LARGE!

I'm afraid that I didn't get to read any of the few comments left in various places and I am sorry that you heard absolutely nothing from me after, either.

My father is now physically unable to do anything for himself now and his dementia is on another planet. Those nice people at DWP (Social Security) recognised this by cutting his money by £67 per week. And poor Jack Russell Milo, seems to have a tumour in his stomach and is far too old to undergo such drastic surgery. Thin and slow, now, but still recognises me and still loves being stroked behind his velvety ears. And of course, those nice people at the DWP have cut my money - and will do so again. Such nice people!

So, I have had - and continue to do so, quite a lot to think about and worry about.

Does this mean that I am returning to Blip? Well, er, no. It IS a cordial invite to join me, whether in just looking at what I am taking, or for you to join yourself, but here is the link to that other site that I kept so secret, for so long.... www.juzaphoto.com/me.php?p=39766&pg=allphotos&l=en

My mind is being lightened by being ridiculously prolific of late. Every day. Most days getting several images that I wouldn't have dreamt of  getting just a couple of years ago. Blipfoto isn't really the best site for posting those. This other one is not better, just different...

And whilst in the mist, looking out over the reeds at 3 a.m., with echoey shrill noises from various creatures, many really quite disturbing, the full moon (on the far right) was sending its silvery moon-beams across the undulating, glistening reed beds. The moonlight was actually being reflected in the stained glass of the cathedral.

And what better (worse?) time for a fool with a brand new toy that he had bought himself for an early (really far too early) birthday present. Started out at 9pm, for sunset, and STILL tinkering with it 6 hours later! Yes, a Cokin 'Z' (extra Pro large, 100mm) grad grey filters, a kit with a set of three of them. In the almost dark, not too ideal for peering through viewfinders trying to focus manually but also to (try and) guess the correct exposure (difficult enough at the best of times).

So, hands up, who saw this and immediately said - yes, a 3 stop grad grey used here? Nope? Good. It's not meant to show, but it was supposed to show the reed beds in the foreground, without hardly any shadow extraction, which would have added noise and colour break-up.

Comments still off?

Yes, fraid so. Too much of a coward I guess to find out what you really think of me. Or of what I have done, will do in the future. I'm scared most of the time, I suppose.

Anyways, thank you again. Come on over, if you want to. Don't leave Blip, for Gawd's sake, but it would be nice to see a few of you posting on this other site too, perhaps.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.